HVAC Excellence Certification: Which Level Fits You?
HVAC Excellence certification is a family of credentials for students, working technicians, and instructors, issued by HVAC Excellence, a member of ESCO Group. Match your goal and experience to the route below; certification does not replace applicable EPA Section 608 or state or local licensing requirements.
Which HVAC Excellence certification route fits you?
| If you are… | Your route | What you need first | What the exam is | Published pass mark |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| A student or tech documenting entry-level subject knowledge | Employment Ready, one exam per subject | Nothing. No prerequisite. | Written, 50 or 100 questions depending on subject | 70% |
| Anyone who wants a focused credential (A2L refrigerants, heat load, and others) | Specialty | Nothing. No prerequisite. | Varies by exam; written and hands-on formats are offered | A2L: 70%; confirm other exams individually |
| A tech with 2+ years of verified field experience | Professional Level: pass the Core exam, then any of 9 specialty exams | 2 years verified experience, plus Core before any specialty | Written, closed-book, 100 questions each | Not stated on the Professional overview page |
| A tech with 3+ years and a related written certification | Master Specialist (hands-on) | 3 years experience, plus a pass on the related Professional exam or a listed equivalent | Hands-on performance test at a site with working equipment | Not stated on the Master Specialist overview page |
| A high school HVACR student | H.E.A.T. Student Outcome Assessment, through your school | Nothing. No prerequisite. | 100-question written; H.E.A.T. Plus adds a 25-question core and a hands-on part | 70% |
| An HVACR instructor | Educator credentialing (CSME and CMHE) | Nothing. No formal prerequisite. | Subject exams for CSME; seven specified exams, including teaching, for CMHE | 80% for CSME |
These are separate routes, not steps everyone must climb. A missing pass mark on an overview page is not proof that no rule exists. Your proctor can confirm it for your exam.
By the Castleport Test Prep Editorial Team. Requirements checked against ESCO Group's official HVAC Excellence pages on September 28, 2026.
Which HVAC Excellence level should you choose?
Pick the route by what you have already done, not by the name that sounds most impressive. The rules below come straight from ESCO's pages.
Employment Ready: pick the subject you just studied
Employment Ready certifications are built for students and entry-level technicians. Schools usually give them at the end of a course or module. There is no prerequisite. Each exam covers one subject, and a score of 70% or higher earns a certificate of achievement. Some also come with a patch.
So the real decision is which subject. ESCO lists 24:
| Employment Ready exam | Questions | Spanish listed |
|---|---|---|
| Air Conditioning | 100 | Yes |
| Basic Refrigeration and Charging Procedures | 50 | Yes |
| Brazing and Soldering | 50 | Yes |
| Building Automation Systems | 100 | Not listed |
| Carbon Monoxide & Combustion Analysis | 100 | Not listed |
| Carbon Monoxide Safety | 50 | Not listed |
| Combustion Appliance Zone | 50 | Not listed |
| Electrical | 100 | Yes |
| Electric Heat | 100 | Yes |
| Fuel Oil Combustion | 50 | Not listed |
| Gas Heat | 100 | Not listed |
| Geothermal Heat Pumps | 100 | Not listed |
| Heat Pumps | 100 | Yes |
| Light Commercial Air Conditioning | 100 | Not listed |
| Light Commercial Refrigeration | 100 | Not listed |
| Mini-Split Core Essentials | 100 | Not listed |
| Natural Gas Combustion | 50 | Not listed |
| Oil Heat | 100 | Not listed |
| Pressure Enthalpy | 50 | Not listed |
| Psychrometrics | 50 | Not listed |
| Residential & Light Commercial Hydronic Heat | 100 | Not listed |
| System Diagnostics & Troubleshooting | 50 | Not listed |
| System Recovery and Evacuation | 50 | Yes |
| Water Heaters | 50 | Not listed |
Source: ESCO, Employment Ready Certifications, certification table. “Not listed” means that the table does not mark Spanish availability; it does not establish that Spanish testing is unavailable.
Professional Level: check field experience and Core together
Professional Level certifications are for experienced techs. They have two gates, and you need both:
- Two years of verified field experience before you take any Professional exam.
- The Core exam, Principles of Electrical and Refrigeration Theory, before any Professional specialty exam.
Every Professional exam is a closed-book, 100-question written test. Passing earns a certificate of achievement.
| Professional exam | What ESCO says it covers |
|---|---|
| Principles of Electrical and Refrigeration Theory (Core), required first | Safety, theory, components, meter usage, motors and capacitors, electrical diagrams, troubleshooting |
| Combustion Analysis | Combustion theory and fuels, carbon monoxide safety, building pressure measurements |
| Electric Heat | Electric heating systems, installation and service, safety, airflow, troubleshooting |
| Gas Heat | Combustion theory, safety, components, electrical troubleshooting, installation and service |
| Heat Pump Installer | System design, applications, electrical wiring, charging |
| Heat Pump Service | Components, controls, the heat pump cycle, schematics, troubleshooting |
| Light Commercial Air Conditioning | Commercial AC systems, installation, service, theory, troubleshooting |
| Light Commercial Refrigeration | Equipment installation and service, system types, components, troubleshooting |
| Residential Air Conditioning | ACR theory, service, components, refrigerant flow control, charging |
| Residential & Light Commercial Hydronic Heat | Theory, design, installation, service, component recognition |
Source: ESCO, Professional Technician Certifications. The U.S. Department of Energy lists the Heat Pump Installer and Heat Pump Service certifications in its Energy Skilled recognized HVAC programs.
Watch for this: taking a course does not waive the experience gate. Core is a Professional-level exam, so the two-year requirement still applies. Similar names don't mean similar exams, either. An Employment Ready Electrical exam and the Professional Core exam are not interchangeable.
Master Specialist: the hands-on path
Master Specialist is where you prove you can do the work, not just answer questions about it. To earn the credential you need:
- at least 3 years of field experience,
- a passing score on the related written Professional exam, or a listed equivalent: NATE, RSES CM, SM, or CMS, or UA Star. The credential has to be in the matching area; an unrelated one doesn't count.
- a pass on the hands-on performance test.
The test can only be given where there are qualified administrators and working equipment, so you'll need to find a site that offers your discipline. Passing earns a certificate, wallet card, patch, and chevron.
ESCO lists these Master Specialist exams:
- Residential: Heat Pump, Gas Furnace, Electric Heat, Air Conditioning, Oil Heat
- Commercial Air Conditioning; Commercial Refrigeration; TEV Metering Device Troubleshooting (Commercial)
- Combustion Analysis
- Envelope Leak Testing; Duct Leak Testing; Residential Energy Auditing
- Residential Heat Gain and Heat Loss Calculation; Calculating Indoor Air CFM
- System Leak Testing and Evacuation; System Charging and Start-up
- Set-up and commissioning: Economizer; Building Automation Systems; Demand-Controlled Ventilation; Outdoor Air; Constant Air Volume A/C and Heat Pump Systems; Variable Air Volume; Fault Detection & Diagnostics for Packaged DX Units; Hydronic System Variable Flow Control
- Air Economizer Controls; Water Valve Leakage Testing; Supply Water Temperature Reset Controls
Specialty and H.E.A.T.: no prerequisites
Specialty certifications are open to students, techs, and instructors. They include:
- A3 hydrocarbon refrigerant safety (50 questions, closed-book)
- A2L low-GWP refrigerant safety (50 questions, closed-book)
- R-410A (50 questions), offered through ESCO by the AC&R Safety Coalition, rather than an HVAC Excellence-owned credential
- Residential Heat Load Analyst (100 questions)
- System Performance (four parts)
- Green Awareness (four parts)
- Duct and Envelope Testing (written plus hands-on)
- Residential Energy Auditor (written plus performance)
H.E.A.T. is the high school assessment. It is a 100-question written exam with either a gas heat or an oil heat emphasis. H.E.A.T. Plus adds a 25-question core exam and a hands-on assessment. Its core covers computer literacy, safety, related math, and employability skills and ethics—not the Professional Core examination. Students who score 70% or higher receive a certificate of achievement.
Educator credentials are a separate branch
Educator credentialing documents teaching-related subject mastery; it is not the Professional technician credential. A score of 80% or higher on a subject exam earns a CSME (Certified Subject Matter Educator) certificate for that subject. The CMHE (Certified Master HVACR Educator) requires seven specified exams:
- Teaching Methodologies, Principles, and Practices
- Electrical
- Air Conditioning
- Light Commercial Air Conditioning
- Light Commercial Refrigeration
- Electric Heat
- One of Gas Heat, Oil Heat, or Heat Pumps
To keep educator credentials, instructors complete at least 10 professional development hours a year and at least one hour in each certified subject every five years. These rules apply to educator credentials only.
Three quick examples
These are made-up situations to show how the rules apply. They aren't real candidates or eligibility rulings.
- Just finished your first electrical module, no field experience. Take the Employment Ready Electrical exam. The Professional route isn't open to you yet.
- Two and a half years of verified field experience, want Professional Gas Heat. You've met the experience gate, but you still need to pass Core before Gas Heat. Ask the proctor what experience documentation they need.
- Four years in the field with a NATE certification in the same area, want hands-on proof. You may qualify for Master Specialist through the equivalency rule. Ask ESCO to confirm your credential matches, then find a site that runs that performance test.
Can you take HVAC Excellence certification online?
Some exams, yes. ESCO publishes remote routes for Employment Ready, educator exams, and A2L refrigerant safety. The remote Employment Ready page describes at-home testing through the proctoring service ProctorU. The ESCO page lists these requirements:
- a computer or laptop with a webcam and microphone; tablets, iPads, and Chromebooks aren't allowed
- a reliable internet connection
- a government-issued photo ID
- a private room
- the required proctoring browser software
ESCO says your access instructions arrive within one business day. It also advises booking at least 72 hours ahead to avoid rush fees. Use the computer-test link on ESCO's remote exam page before you purchase. ESCO's testing participation agreement requires parent or guardian consent for a test taker under 18 and describes third-party software and data terms.
The remote Employment Ready, educator, and A2L checkouts currently require a Social Security number. Review the registration and privacy terms before booking; contact ESCO before purchasing if you cannot provide required information or accept those terms.
That doesn't make every level remote. Master Specialist is hands-on and needs a site with working equipment. For Professional exams, ask your proctor how the test is delivered. And keep three things separate: studying online, taking a proctored exam online, and actually holding a certification. Finishing an online course isn't the same as passing a certification exam.
Educator exams are given through NCTA-approved testing centers, ProctorU, or, in limited cases, institutional administrators who are not affiliated with the HVACR program, according to ESCO's educator page.
How much does HVAC Excellence certification cost?
ESCO's direct remote Employment Ready checkout lists $50 for one remote-proctored testing session, with one attempt included. ESCO's instructions warn of rush fees if you book less than 72 hours ahead. That's the price for that route only, checked September 28, 2026. It isn't the price of every HVAC Excellence certification. (Remote Employment Ready details · checkout)
Two other official remote fees were also listed on September 28, 2026:
| Remote exam | Listed fee and scope |
|---|---|
| Educator subject exam | $50 for one remote-proctored session with one attempt; not a fee for all seven CMHE exams. Checkout terms |
| Low GWP Refrigerant Safety — A2L | $75 for one remote-proctored session with one attempt. Checkout terms |
These remote routes also advise booking at least 72 hours ahead to avoid rush fees. For Professional, Master Specialist, or locally administered testing, get a written quote for your exact level, subject, and testing location before you book. The checklist below covers what to ask.
How do you get HVAC Excellence certified?
- Pick the exact level and subject from the route table above.
- Get your prerequisites confirmed (experience, Core, or a related credential) by the organization giving the exam.
- Study against that exam's official topic list. Use ESCO's descriptions for your subject, not a generic HVAC study list. ESCO also links a competency and task list from its Professional page.
- Book through a proctor. HVAC Excellence exams are given by registered proctors; the official exam-administration page lists training institutions, wholesalers, apprenticeship programs, and other organizations. Ask your school, employer, or local HVACR supply house whether they proctor. For the remote Employment Ready route, follow ESCO's online instructions. You can also call ESCO at (800) 726-9696. That is ESCO's number, not Castleport's.
- Take the exam, then check your record. ESCO's learner page links to a student login for test results and replacement cards or certificates. Employers and holders can look up credentials in ESCO's verification database, which asks for your first name, last name, and certificate number.
Before you book: confirm these eight things
- Exact exam. Which level and subject will appear on the exam and on the credential you earn?
- Prerequisite proof. What experience documentation, Core result, or related credential do they need to accept first?
- Full price. What is the total for this exam and delivery method, and what does it include? Are there session, facility, rescheduling, or rush charges?
- Where and how. Is it in person, remotely proctored, or hands-on at a facility? What equipment and ID do you need?
- Exam-day rules. How much time do you get? What materials and calculators are allowed? Which languages are offered?
- Accommodations and consent. Who handles accommodations, and by when? What consent is needed for a test taker under 18? Read any remote-testing software and privacy terms first.
- Results and retakes. How do results arrive, and what happens if you don't pass? What are the retake, cancellation, no-show, and unused-purchase terms?
- Afterward. How is the credential recorded and verified? Does it need renewal or maintenance?
Copy-and-send version:
I plan to take the [level] exam in [subject]. Please confirm the prerequisites you need to approve, the complete fee and what it includes, how the exam is delivered, and the exam-day rules. Please also send the accommodation process, results and retake terms, and any renewal or maintenance policy for the credential.
Is this the same as EPA 608, NATE, a license, or school accreditation?
No. These get mixed up, but they serve different purposes:
| Term | What it is |
|---|---|
| HVAC Excellence certification | The individual industry credentials explained on this page. |
| EPA Section 608 | A federal requirement. Techs who maintain, service, repair, or dispose of equipment that could release refrigerants must pass an EPA-approved test from an EPA-approved certifying organization (EPA). EPA exempts apprentices who are closely and continually supervised by a certified technician. An HVAC Excellence subject certificate is not a 608 certification. See our EPA 608 guide. |
| State or local license | Set by where you work. Some states and localities require HVAC technicians to be licensed (BLS). An industry certification doesn't replace that; check with your state or local licensing authority. |
| NATE certification | A credential from a separate certifying organization. ESCO accepts related NATE credentials as an equivalent written prerequisite for Master Specialist. See our NATE certification guide. |
| HVAC Excellence program accreditation | A non-governmental review of a school's program (ESCO accreditation). It doesn't certify individual students. |
| Course-completion certificate | Proof you finished a course. Course completion alone does not establish that you passed a separate certification exam. |
HVAC Excellence or NATE? Neither is universally "better." The Bureau of Labor Statistics notes that many certifications are optional but some employers prefer or require specific ones. If a job posting or employer names a credential, ask exactly which one they accept before you pay for an exam.
Is HVAC Excellence certification worth it?
It's worth it when someone who matters to you recognizes it. Some real signals:
- ESCO reports that the Mechanical Service Contractors of America has named HVAC Excellence a recruitment partner,
- the United Association and HVAC Excellence publish an advanced-placement agreement for qualifying graduates of accredited programs who meet specified requirements; admission and credit remain subject to the local apprenticeship program, and
- DOE lists the two heat pump Professional certifications in its Energy Skilled recognition directory.
Those come from ESCO's FAQ and Professional page.
The honest limit: it isn't a license, and how much it helps depends on your local employers and programs. If you're a student, an Employment Ready exam that matches your coursework is a way to document what you've learned. If you're experienced, the Professional and Master Specialist routes document knowledge and hands-on skill.
Quick answers
Is there an age requirement? No. ESCO's FAQ says its written and hands-on exams validate ability regardless of age. That does not remove the under-18 consent requirement for the remote route described above.
Does HVAC Excellence certification expire? The Employment Ready, Professional, and Master Specialist overview pages checked for this guide do not state an expiration or renewal period. Educator credentials have the maintenance rule above. Ask ESCO which policy applies to the exact credential printed on your record.
How often do the exams change? ESCO says it monitors results and reviews all tests on a three-year basis. A review cycle is not an announced change date for your exam.
Are the exams multiple choice? The written exams are. ESCO says items typically have four choices, though some can have more. Master Specialist and some Specialty exams include hands-on performance tests.
20 free HVAC Excellence practice questions: electrical and refrigeration basics
Original, unofficial practice. These are not HVAC Excellence exam questions.
These questions cover selected electrical fundamentals and refrigeration basics relevant to the Employment Ready and Professional topic descriptions. They do not cover the whole Core exam or its motors topic. Each has one best answer. Your score here is feedback on these 20 questions, not a prediction of an HVAC Excellence result.
This is paper-based concept practice, not a procedure for working on equipment. The safety questions test recognition of published requirements, not a complete de-energizing process; OSHA restricts work on exposed energized parts to qualified persons. (OSHA 1910.333, paragraphs (b)(2) and (c)(2))
Question 1 · Safety
Which verification is required by OSHA before electrical circuit parts are treated as de-energized for work?
- A. Turn the thermostat system switch to OFF
- B. Wait five minutes so the capacitor can bleed down
- C. A qualified person must test the circuit parts with test equipment to verify they are de-energized
- D. Add a second tag to the disconnect
Reveal answer and explanation
Answer: C. A qualified person must test the circuit parts with test equipment to verify they are de-energized
OSHA says a qualified person must use test equipment to verify that the parts are actually de-energized before they are worked as de-energized. The thermostat is a control device, not the isolation point. Waiting is not verification. A second tag adds a warning, not proof.
Source: OSHA 29 CFR 1910.333, Selection and use of work practices, 1910.333(b)(2)(iv)(B); this verification is one part of the full de-energizing procedure
Question 2 · Safety
Which of these is a physical energy-isolating device rather than a control-circuit device?
- A. The unit's service disconnect switch
- B. A push-button stop control
- C. The thermostat's system switch
- D. A door safety interlock in the control circuit
Reveal answer and explanation
Answer: A. The unit's service disconnect switch
OSHA bars control-circuit devices such as push buttons, selector switches, and interlocks from being the sole means of de-energizing, and says interlocks cannot substitute for lockout. A thermostat switch is a control device too. A disconnect that opens the supply conductors is an energy-isolating device. Opening a disconnect alone does not complete the required isolation, stored-energy, lockout/tagout, and verification steps.
Source: OSHA 29 CFR 1910.333, Selection and use of work practices, 1910.333(b)(2)(ii)(B) · OSHA 29 CFR 1910.147, Control of hazardous energy (lockout/tagout), 1910.147(b), definition of energy isolating device only; electrical work practices are addressed by 1910.333
Question 3 · Safety
Under OSHA's electrical de-energizing requirements, which statement correctly describes dangerous stored energy in a capacitor?
- A. Nothing; locked-out equipment is automatically safe
- B. Stored energy that could endanger personnel must be released, and the capacitor is treated as energized while it is handled for that purpose
- C. Only capacitors rated over 600 volts must be discharged
- D. A capacitor may be handled once the unit has been off overnight
Reveal answer and explanation
Answer: B. Stored energy that could endanger personnel must be released, and the capacitor is treated as energized while it is handled for that purpose
A capacitor can still hold a charge after disconnection. OSHA requires capacitors to be discharged when the stored energy might endanger someone, and treats them as energized while they are handled for that purpose. The rule has no 600-volt or overnight exception.
Source: OSHA 29 CFR 1910.333, Selection and use of work practices, 1910.333(b)(2)(ii)(C) and note
Question 4 · Electrical theory
A 48-ohm electric heat element is connected to 240 volts. How much current does it draw?
- A. 0.2 A
- B. 5 A
- C. 50 A
- D. 11,520 A
Reveal answer and explanation
Answer: B. 5 A
Ohm's law: I = V / R = 240 / 48 = 5 A. Option A flips the division (48 / 240). Option D multiplies instead of dividing. Option C is an arithmetic slip.
Source: OpenStax College Physics 2e, 20.2 Ohm's Law, Ohm's law, V = IR
Question 5 · Electrical theory
A 48-ohm electric heat element draws 5 A at 240 V. How much power does it use?
- A. 48 W
- B. 245 W
- C. 1,200 W
- D. 11,520 W
Reveal answer and explanation
Answer: C. 1,200 W
P = I x V = 5 x 240 = 1,200 W. Check it another way: P = V squared / R = 57,600 / 48 = 1,200 W. Option B adds instead of multiplying. Option D multiplies volts by ohms. Option A uses the resistance value as though it were power.
Source: OpenStax College Physics 2e, 20.4 Electric Power and Energy, Power in Electric Circuits
Question 6 · Electrical theory
Resistances of 10 ohms, 20 ohms, and 30 ohms are wired in series. What is the total resistance?
- A. 5.5 ohms
- B. 20 ohms
- C. 60 ohms
- D. 6,000 ohms
Reveal answer and explanation
Answer: C. 60 ohms
Series resistances add: 10 + 20 + 30 = 60 ohms. Option A is the parallel result rounded to one decimal place. Option B is the average. Option D multiplies.
Source: OpenStax College Physics 2e, 21.1 Resistors in Series and Parallel, Resistors in Series
Question 7 · Electrical theory
Two 20-ohm loads are wired in parallel across 120 volts. What is the total resistance, and what voltage does each load see?
- A. 40 ohms; 60 V each
- B. 10 ohms; 60 V each
- C. 40 ohms; 120 V each
- D. 10 ohms; 120 V each
Reveal answer and explanation
Answer: D. 10 ohms; 120 V each
Each parallel branch gets the full source voltage, 120 V. Two equal resistances in parallel equal half of one, 10 ohms, which is less than the smallest branch. The 60 V answers split voltage as if the loads were in series. The 40-ohm answers add resistance as if they were in series.
Source: OpenStax College Physics 2e, 21.1 Resistors in Series and Parallel, Resistors in Parallel
Question 8 · Capacitors
Two 5-microfarad capacitors are connected in parallel. What is the total capacitance?
- A. 2.5 microfarads
- B. 5 microfarads
- C. 10 microfarads
- D. 25 microfarads
Reveal answer and explanation
Answer: C. 10 microfarads
Capacitances in parallel add: 5 + 5 = 10 microfarads. That is the opposite of resistors, where parallel lowers the total. Option A is the series result.
Source: OpenStax College Physics 2e, 19.6 Capacitors in Series and Parallel, Capacitors in Parallel
Question 9 · Capacitors
Two 10-microfarad capacitors are connected in series. What is the total capacitance?
- A. 5 microfarads
- B. 10 microfarads
- C. 20 microfarads
- D. 100 microfarads
Reveal answer and explanation
Answer: A. 5 microfarads
In series, 1/C = 1/10 + 1/10 = 2/10, so C = 5 microfarads. A series total is always less than any single capacitor. Option C applies the parallel rule.
Source: OpenStax College Physics 2e, 19.6 Capacitors in Series and Parallel, Capacitors in Series
Question 10 · Meter usage
Which connection is correct for an in-line ammeter and a voltmeter?
- A. Ammeter in parallel with the load; voltmeter in series
- B. Ammeter in series with the load; voltmeter in parallel across it
- C. Both in series
- D. Both in parallel
Reveal answer and explanation
Answer: B. Ammeter in series with the load; voltmeter in parallel across it
An ammeter must carry the same current as the load, so it goes in series. A voltmeter measures the potential difference across a component, so it goes in parallel with it. A low-resistance ammeter placed in parallel can take most of the current and damage the meter.
Source: OpenStax College Physics 2e, 21.4 DC Voltmeters and Ammeters, DC Voltmeters and Ammeters
Question 11 · Meter usage
A tech clamps an AC clamp meter around both conductors of a running 240-volt two-wire load and reads nearly 0 A. What is the most likely explanation?
- A. The load is actually off
- B. The meter battery is low
- C. The magnetic fields of the two conductors cancel inside the meter's jaw
- D. The circuit has a ground fault
Reveal answer and explanation
Answer: C. The magnetic fields of the two conductors cancel inside the meter's jaw
Current flows in opposite directions in the two conductors, so their magnetic fields cancel inside the jaw. With one conductor in the jaw, the meter measures that conductor's current. The stem says the load is running, and nothing points to a meter or ground fault.
Source: Fluke, Clamp meter readings: problems and solutions, Clamping around a phase conductor
Question 12 · Electrical diagrams
A control schematic shows a conventional, non-latching relay in its de-energized state. How are its normally open (NO) contacts shown, and what do they do when the functioning coil is energized enough to pull in?
- A. Shown open; they close when the coil is energized
- B. Shown closed; they open when the coil is energized
- C. Shown open; they stay open when the coil is energized
- D. Shown closed; they stay closed when the coil is energized
Reveal answer and explanation
Answer: A. Shown open; they close when the coil is energized
For this non-latching relay, the normal state is its de-energized state. Normally open contacts are open in that state and change state, closing, when the coil pulls in. Option B describes normally closed contacts.
Source: Lessons in Electric Circuits Vol. IV, Relay Construction, Relay Construction · Lessons in Electric Circuits Vol. IV, Contact "Normal" State and Make/Break Sequence, Contact normal state
Question 13 · Troubleshooting
In a simplified paper model, a working 24-volt source feeds an intact contactor coil through one ideal pressure switch. Wiring is intact and there are no other open points. The model shows the full 24 V across the switch. What state is the switch in?
- A. The switch is closed and working
- B. The switch is open
- C. The contactor coil is shorted
- D. The transformer has no output
Reveal answer and explanation
Answer: B. The switch is open
In this series-circuit model, the full source voltage appears across the open switch because no current flows through the intact coil. A closed switch would read close to 0 V. The source and coil are specified as working, so the shorted-coil and no-output options contradict the stem. An open state alone does not prove that the switch is defective.
Source: BCcampus Basic Electricity, Series Circuits (An Open in a Series Circuit), An Open in a Series Circuit · OpenStax College Physics 2e, 20.2 Ohm's Law, V = IR (derived)
Question 14 · Troubleshooting
In a simplified paper model, a working 24-volt source supplies current through an intact coil and a closed switch in series. The switch has negligible resistance. What voltage drop is expected across that switch?
- A. About 24 V
- B. About 12 V
- C. About 0 V
- D. A reading that climbs without stopping
Reveal answer and explanation
Answer: C. About 0 V
A good closed switch has almost no resistance, so V = I x R across it is about 0 V. The 24 V and 12 V options imply substantial voltage drops, not the negligible drop specified here. Nothing in this steady-state model makes the voltage climb continuously. A 0 V reading by itself would not prove that a real circuit is powered or that current is flowing; those conditions are supplied in this stem.
Source: OpenStax College Physics 2e, 20.2 Ohm's Law, V = IR (derived) · BCcampus Basic Electricity, Series Circuits (An Open in a Series Circuit), An Open in a Series Circuit
Question 15 · Refrigeration theory
In a vapor-compression air conditioner operating in cooling mode, where does the refrigerant absorb heat from the indoor air?
- A. Compressor
- B. Condenser
- C. Evaporator
- D. Expansion (metering) device
Reveal answer and explanation
Answer: C. Evaporator
The evaporator is the cold-side coil where refrigerant absorbs heat. The condenser rejects heat, the compressor adds work, and the metering device drops the pressure.
Source: OpenStax College Physics 2e, 15.5 Heat Pumps and Refrigerators, Air Conditioners and Refrigerators
Question 16 · Refrigeration theory
In an ideal steady-state air-cooled vapor-compression air conditioner, ignoring heat transfer outside the two coils, why does the condenser reject more heat than the evaporator absorbs?
- A. Refrigerant is lost through the metering device
- B. The evaporator removes only humidity
- C. Outdoor air is always hotter than the refrigerant
- D. The condenser also rejects the energy added by the compressor's work
Reveal answer and explanation
Answer: D. The condenser also rejects the energy added by the compressor's work
Energy balance: heat rejected equals heat absorbed plus work input (Qh = Qc + W). Option A describes a leak, not normal operation. Option B ignores the sensible heat the evaporator removes. Option C is false; the refrigerant must be hotter than the outdoor air to reject heat to it.
Source: OpenStax College Physics 2e, 15.5 Heat Pumps and Refrigerators, Heat pumps: Qh = Qc + W
Question 17 · Refrigeration theory
A single-component refrigerant is condensing inside a coil at constant pressure. What happens to its temperature while heat is being removed during the phase change?
- A. It drops steadily
- B. It rises
- C. It stays constant until the phase change is complete
- D. It instantly drops to outdoor air temperature
Reveal answer and explanation
Answer: C. It stays constant until the phase change is complete
The heat removed during condensation is latent heat. For a single-component refrigerant at constant pressure, the temperature does not change until the phase change is finished. Only after that does further cooling lower the liquid's temperature, which is subcooling. Do not apply this constant-temperature rule to every blend: zeotropic blends can change temperature during condensation because of temperature glide.
Source: OpenStax College Physics 2e, 14.3 Phase Change and Latent Heat, Phase Change and Latent Heat · National Refrigerants, How to Use a Two-Column Pressure-Temperature Chart, PDF p. 1, single-component refrigerants versus zeotropic blends and temperature glide
Question 18 · Refrigeration theory
For the same single-component refrigerant within its liquid-vapor saturation range below the critical point, what happens to its saturation temperature as pressure rises?
- A. It rises
- B. It falls
- C. It stays the same
- D. It depends only on the surrounding air
Reveal answer and explanation
Answer: A. It rises
Boiling temperature rises as pressure rises, the same idea as a pressure cooker. That pressure-temperature relationship is why a saturation temperature can be found from pressure using a chart for the correct refrigerant.
Source: OpenStax College Physics 2e, 13.5 Phase Changes, Phase diagrams: boiling temperature vs pressure
Question 19 · Refrigeration theory
The suction line at the evaporator outlet is 55 degrees F. The saturated-vapor (dew-point) temperature for the refrigerant at the pressure measured at that same location is 40 degrees F. What is the superheat?
- A. 15 degrees F
- B. 40 degrees F
- C. 55 degrees F
- D. 95 degrees F
Reveal answer and explanation
Answer: A. 15 degrees F
Superheat is the vapor temperature minus the saturated-vapor (dew-point) temperature at the same pressure: 55 - 40 = 15 degrees F. Option D adds the two readings. Options B and C are single readings, not a difference. These numbers are for practice only, not a target for any system.
Source: National Refrigerants, How to Use a Two-Column Pressure-Temperature Chart, PDF p. 2, first paragraph: vapor temperature minus saturated-vapor/dew-point temperature at the measured pressure
Question 20 · Refrigeration theory
The liquid line is 95 degrees F. The saturated-liquid (bubble-point) temperature for the refrigerant at the pressure measured at that same location is 105 degrees F. What is the subcooling?
- A. 10 degrees F
- B. 95 degrees F
- C. 105 degrees F
- D. 200 degrees F
Reveal answer and explanation
Answer: A. 10 degrees F
Subcooling is the saturated-liquid (bubble-point) temperature minus the liquid temperature at the same pressure: 105 - 95 = 10 degrees F. The other options are single readings or a sum. These numbers are for practice only, not a target for any system.
Source: National Refrigerants, How to Use a Two-Column Pressure-Temperature Chart, PDF p. 2, second paragraph: saturated-liquid/bubble-point temperature minus liquid temperature at the measured pressure
Using your results
Sort your misses by topic label. Go back to your course material or the linked source for that topic, then rework the question without looking at the answer. Review guessed answers too; a correct guess can hide a gap.
A few questions can't measure readiness for a 100-question exam. Use them to find where to study, and use your coursework and your instructor or supervisor for the hands-on side.
Sources
Official HVAC Excellence and ESCO pages, checked September 28, 2026:
- HVAC Excellence FAQ: prerequisites, age, advanced placement, credential database
- Employment Ready Certifications: subjects, question counts, 70% pass mark
- Professional Technician Certifications: 2-year gate, Core, exam list
- Master Specialist Hands-On Certifications: 3-year gate, equivalents, exam list
- Specialty Certifications
- H.E.A.T. Student Outcome Assessments
- Educator Credentialing Exams: CSME 80%, CMHE, maintenance
- Exam Development and Test Validation Process: item format, three-year review
- Remote Employment Ready exam and checkout: remote requirements and the $50 session price
- Remote educator exams and checkout: $50 per subject-exam session
- Remote A2L exam and checkout: $75 session price, 50 questions, 70% pass mark
- Testing participation agreement: third-party software/data terms and under-18 consent
- ESCO learner resources and credential verification
- HVAC Excellence accreditation
Other sources:
- EPA Section 608 technician certification requirements
- BLS Occupational Outlook Handbook, HVAC mechanics and installers
- DOE Energy Skilled recognized HVAC programs
- Practice-question sources: OSHA 1910.333, OSHA 1910.147, OpenStax College Physics 2e, Fluke, Lessons in Electric Circuits, BCcampus Basic Electricity, National Refrigerants, How to Use a Two-Column Pressure-Temperature Chart
Last verified: September 28, 2026. We checked the listed credential requirements, exam catalogs, and three remote exam fees against the linked official pages, and checked the practice principles against the sources beside each answer.
AI assistance was used to draft and check this guide against the cited sources. AI-assisted source checking is not professional review. See how we create and check content.
Independence: Castleport Test Prep is an independent exam prep publisher. We are not affiliated with, endorsed by, or approved by HVAC Excellence, ESCO Group, or ESCO Institute. Exam and credential names identify the subjects discussed; trademarks belong to their respective owners. This guide doesn't issue credentials or decide anyone's eligibility. The practice questions are original and unofficial.
More free HVAC resources: HVAC certification guides · EPA 608 Universal practice test