Castleport Test Prep

NHA CET Exam Requirements: Who Qualifies?

Understand the NHA CET eligibility routes, education rule, ten-live-EKG requirement, student exception, deadlines, and documents to prepare before you register.

NHA CET exam requirements: who qualifies?

NHA CET exam requirements have three parts: education, a qualifying route, and evidence that you have successfully performed at least ten EKGs on live individuals. The student and early-testing exceptions below change when particular requirements must be complete.

RequirementThe rule
EducationA high school diploma or an accepted equivalent. Eligible high-school or GED students can test within 12 months before graduation under the provisional-certification rules.
One qualifying routeQualifying training completed less than five years before registration; or one year of supervised EKG-field work within the last three years; or two years within the last five years. The route table also covers approved early-testing arrangements and instructors.
Live EKG evidenceProof that you successfully performed at least 10 EKGs on live individuals, normally before sitting. An institution-agreed pre-externship arrangement can allow completion within its externship window.

Sources: NHA Candidate Handbook, updated 1 June 2026, pp. 6–11; NHA's CET certification page; student eligibility guidance.

This page covers the National Healthcareer Association's Certified EKG Technician (CET) exam in the United States.

By Castleport Test Prep Editorial Team · Eligibility and application guidance last verified: 10 September 2026.


Find your route

You need to satisfy one row in this table. The education requirement and the ten live EKGs still apply, with the timing exceptions explained below. The seven rows group NHA's main pathways and special arrangements.

#RouteWhat must be trueWhat NHA can ask you to showThe clock
1Training programYou completed a training program in the health field the exam covers, from an accredited or state-recognized institution or providerProof of completionCompleted less than 5 years before registration
2Registered apprenticeshipYou completed an apprenticeship registered under US Department of Labor guidelinesProof of completionCompleted less than 5 years before registration
3US military trainingYou completed formal medical services training from any branch of the US militaryProof of completionCompleted less than 5 years before registration
4Employer training programYou finished the classroom part of an employer's program, and your employer has signed an agreement with NHA allowing you to test earlyEmployer's confirmation that you finished the whole program180 days after your exam to finish on-the-job training and have your employer notify NHA
5Pre-externshipYou finished the classroom part of your school's program, and your school has signed an agreement with NHA allowing you to test before your externshipSchool's confirmation that you finished the whole program90 days after your exam to finish the externship and have your school notify NHA
6Work experienceYou have 1 year of supervised work in the EKG field within the last 3 years, or 2 years of supervised work within the last 5 yearsEvidence of qualifying supervised work experience, on requestRolling 3-year or 5-year look-back
7InstructorYou teach at an NHA-associated institution and meet the combined teaching and clinical criteria belowEvidence of the qualifying teaching and clinical criteria, plus the ten EKGsYou cannot sit within 6 months of proctoring the same exam

Routes 1 through 5 are all versions of NHA's "training program" pathway. Route 6 is the work-experience pathway. Route 7 is separate and only applies to instructors. NHA Candidate Handbook, pp. 6–10.


The diploma requirement, and the 12-month exception

You need a high school diploma or an equivalent NHA accepts. That includes a GED or another equivalency test your state recognizes, or a diploma plus an official transcript showing equivalent education.

You do not have to have graduated already to use the student route. NHA explicitly allows eligible high-school and GED students to test before graduation. A training provider's admission conditions are separate from NHA's published certification requirements. NHA student eligibility guidance.

If your education documents are not in English, you must be able to supply a translation on request from a service approved in the United States for legal or governmental documents. Candidates educated outside the US should also read the foreign-document discrepancy below before paying for an evaluation. NHA Candidate Handbook, p. 6.

If you expect to earn your diploma or equivalency within the next 12 months and meet the other eligibility requirements, you can register and test under the student route. You will attest to that at registration, and if you pass you receive a Provisional Certification instead of a full one.

Still in high school or finishing a GED

A Provisional Certification is a placeholder. It lets you test close to when you finish your training, before you have the diploma NHA needs for a full certification.

Read these three rules carefully, because missing the conversion deadline can mean retaking the exam:

  • It expires 12 months after your exam date. Not 12 months after graduation — 12 months after the day you tested.
  • It cannot be renewed or reinstated. If it lapses before you convert it, you retake the whole exam.
  • You must register for the exam yourself. Parents, teachers, and school officials are not permitted to register on your behalf.

So schedule your exam no more than 12 months before your graduation date, and convert it as soon as you graduate.

How to convert it. Use NHA's account and submission instructions, and prepare the full documentation listed in the Handbook:

  1. Log into your NHA candidate account.
  2. Open My Achievements and write down your certification number.
  3. Collect one graduation document. NHA accepts a high school transcript, an unofficial transcript that shows the graduation date, a copy of your diploma, GED test scores or certificate, or an affidavit from the school confirming graduation. College transcripts are not accepted. Also prepare written proof that you meet the training or work-experience requirement and evidence of the ten live EKGs, as the Handbook requires.
  4. Include a letter with the name on your NHA account, your current address and email address, and your certification number or a copy of the provisional certificate. Email the documentation to info@nhanow.com or fax it to 913-661-6291.
  5. Check your account for the converted certification. NHA's help article gives an expected turnaround of two to three business days; that does not extend the provisional-certification deadline.

When you convert, your full certification's expiration is calculated from your original testing date, and the normal continuing education rules start applying.

Sources: Candidate Handbook pp. 10–11 and p. 38; NHA Help Center, How to Update a Provisional Certification.


The ten live EKGs: what counts, and when

Every CET candidate has to show evidence of successfully performing a minimum of ten EKGs on live individuals. This is separate from finishing a course. A course completion certificate does not satisfy it on its own.

What counts. You must have successfully performed the EKGs on live individuals. Watching someone else run a twelve-lead, answering rhythm questions correctly, or practising on a manikin or simulator does not establish that experience. Arrange the procedures and documentation through your training program or employer.

What the published eligibility rule does not specify. The Handbook's CET eligibility section does not specify ten different patients, a particular number of leads, a specific supervisor credential, or a standard log form. Ask your program or employer which procedures and records it will accept; do not assume any tracing counts, and do not try to solve this by running EKGs on friends or family outside a supervised clinical setting.

When you need them done. Before you sit. The Handbook puts this requirement in Step 3, to be completed prior to sitting for the exam. The published early-completion exception is the pre-externship route, where your school's agreement with NHA can allow completion inside the externship window.

Do not use the employer-training deadline as a 180-day extension for the ten EKGs. The 180-day clock belongs to on-the-job training under the employer-training route — a different requirement on a different route. The procedure exception in Step 3 specifically names the institution-agreed pre-externship window.

How you prove it. You attest at registration. NHA's own eligibility checker asks whether you can provide proof upon request, and NHA reserves the right to audit attestations. Practically, that means knowing now where your record lives and who can confirm it. Follow NHA's instructions for any document request rather than assuming your application will never require an upload.

If you're taking an online course: ask before you enrol how the program gets you ten live EKGs. Coursework alone does not establish that you personally performed the required procedures. Confirm the clinical arrangement and how your successful procedures will be documented.

Sources: NHA Candidate Handbook, p. 8 and registration attestations; CET eligibility guidance; NHA eligibility checker.


Your route in detail

Routes 1–3: training programs, apprenticeships, and military training

Any of these three satisfies the training pathway:

  • A training program in the health field the exam covers, offered by an accredited or state-recognized institution or provider.
  • An apprenticeship registered under US Department of Labor guidelines.
  • Formal medical services training from any branch of the US military.

All three carry the same five-year limit.

#### What if my program finished five years ago or earlier?

That completion date no longer qualifies under the training pathway. NHA's rule is direct: if your completion date is five years or more before your registration date, you are ineligible under the training pathway on that basis and must instead qualify on work experience.

That is not the end of the road. Go to Route 6. One year of supervised EKG-field work in the last three years, or two years in the last five, meets the work-experience requirement. The education and live-EKG requirements still apply.

Routes 4–5: testing before you finish

Two arrangements let you sit before your program is fully complete. Both depend on an agreement your school or employer has already made with NHA. You cannot set this up yourself, and you cannot assume it exists.

RequirementPre-externship routeEmployer training route
Who arranges itYour institutionYour employer
What you must have finishedThe classroom (didactic) portion, verified by the institutionThe classroom (didactic) portion, verified by the employer
What's outstandingYour externshipYour on-the-job training
Deadline after your exam date90 days180 days
Who notifies NHAYour institutionYour employer

The consequences are identical and worth stating plainly. If you pass, you are told you passed — but no certificate number is assigned and nothing is released to you, an employer, or a regulator until completion is reported. If the deadline passes without that report, NHA voids your score and you retake the exam. Your certification's effective date is the day NHA assigns the certificate number.

Two things to do before you book: confirm the agreement actually exists, and confirm who is responsible for notifying NHA. That reporting sits with your institution or employer, not with you.

Route 6: work experience instead of a course

You can qualify without ever taking a course. You need either:

  • 1 year of supervised work experience in the EKG field within the last 3 years, or
  • 2 years of supervised work experience in the EKG field within the last 5 years.

The experience has to be supervised and in the field the exam covers. The cited eligibility rules do not supply a part-time-hours conversion, so do not invent one. For a borderline work history, ask NHA how it will assess your dates and duties.

One warning about the second option: the CET work-experience question published in NHA's online eligibility checker does not ask about it. See the next section before you conclude you don't qualify.

Route 7: instructors

If you teach at an institution associated with NHA, you have your own route. You need all of the following:

  1. A current state-recognized teaching certificate, a teaching licence, or at least three years of full-time teaching experience in health care or health science; and
  2. Current licensure, certification, or registration as a health care professional, or at least two years of work experience in the EKG field or a discipline that matches or exceeds its scope; and
  3. All program-specific requirements — for CET, that means the ten live EKGs.

The administrative rules are strict. Register as an individual, not through your institution. You must test at a PSI testing centre or by live remote proctoring, and never at your own institution. You cannot sit for the exam if you proctored that same exam within the previous six months, and once you have registered you must not proctor it until you are certified.

Source: Candidate Handbook, pp. 6–10.


Where NHA's own pages disagree

NHA describes eligibility in several places, and the level of detail is not the same. Use the current Candidate Handbook for the complete pathways and timing rules, and ask NHA to resolve any case-specific conflict rather than relying on a summary or checker alone.

  1. The CET certification page summarizes the main pathways. Its eligibility summary covers the training program and work experience. The Handbook supplies the apprenticeship, military-training, employer-training, pre-externship, and instructor provisions used in the seven-row map above. The shorter summary is not a list of every arrangement.
  2. The checker's published CET work-experience question omits the two-years-in-five option. It asks about one year of EKG-technician experience within three years, even though the Handbook and NHA's CET page also allow two years of supervised work within five years. If that second option describes your work history, check the Handbook and contact NHA rather than treating an incomplete question as an eligibility decision.
  3. The Help Center article contains a typo. Its second work-experience option says "within the past three (5) years." The Handbook and CET certification page say five years. Use five.
  4. Foreign transcripts are described differently. The Help Center says a transcript reflecting equivalent education must be evaluated by AACRAO (the American Association of Collegiate Registrars and Admissions Officers). The Handbook attaches that wording to the ExCPT pharmacy-exam provision, not to its general CET education provision. If you were educated outside the US, ask NHA directly which documents and evaluation it requires before paying for an evaluation.

Compared on 10 September 2026: Candidate Handbook pp. 6–9 · CET certification page · NHA eligibility checker · Help Center eligibility article.


Before you apply: a seven-point check

This is a way to organize your own records and spot anything you're missing. It is not an NHA application, and it does not decide your eligibility — only NHA does that.

IDCheckWhat to write down
CET-REQ-01Education statusYour diploma, GED, or equivalency record — or your expected graduation date if you're using the 12-month route
CET-REQ-02Which route you're usingRoute number from the table above, and the school or employer who can confirm it
CET-REQ-03Your datesProgram completion date or employment dates, checked against the training-recency or work-experience window that applies
CET-REQ-04Live EKG evidenceWhere the record is kept and who can verify it. Do not put patient identifiers in this checklist or send patient records to Castleport
CET-REQ-05Any early-testing arrangementWhether the agreement exists, what's still outstanding, the 90- or 180-day deadline, and who reports completion to NHA; do not apply the employer's 180 days to the live-EKG requirement
CET-REQ-06Account, ID, and paymentYour existing NHA account, ID that matches the name you register under, your organization affiliation, and who is paying
CET-REQ-07AccommodationsWhether you need them, and whether you've registered first and submitted the request; third-party scheduling waits for approval and instructions

You can print this page or copy the checklist into your own notes. If any line is uncertain, take these five questions to your program coordinator, clinical instructor, or employer; contact NHA for questions they cannot resolve:

Which NHA eligibility route does my training or experience satisfy?

>

How will I perform and document the ten live EKGs, and where is that record kept?

>

Does this program or employer have an agreement with NHA that lets me test before I finish?

>

If so, what is my completion deadline, and who notifies NHA?

>

How will I know my certification has been released?


Applying, ID, and accommodations

Your NHA account and the two-hour payment window

You create the account and complete the application yourself. NHA does not permit a parent, teacher, school official, or sponsor to do it for you, and you are bound by the attestations you agree to.

Two details catch people out:

  • The Organization Type you select changes your testing options. If you're not affiliated with an NHA-authorized testing institution, you arrange third-party testing through your NHA account, either at a PSI centre or by live remote proctoring. Even if you are affiliated, you may need third-party testing if your institution doesn't administer CET.
  • You have two hours to complete payment after you apply, unless a school or employer is paying for you. If that window closes first, your application is voided and you start over.

Use a personal email address, not a school or work one. That keeps certification messages accessible after you leave that school or employer. Use your existing NHA account rather than creating a duplicate, and enter your name exactly as it appears on your identification.

Changed your mind about the date? If you booked through PSI or live remote proctoring, you must cancel or reschedule at least 24 hours before your slot, or the fee is forfeited and you re-register and repay. If you're testing at a school or employer site, reschedule before the exam starts — approval is at their discretion.

Check the authorized testing window before choosing a new date. The Handbook describes rescheduling within six months of the original scheduled exam date, while NHA's PSI instructions also specify a six-month window from application to take the exam. Do not assume a reschedule extends your authorization; confirm the permitted date in your account or with NHA. Handbook, p. 21; PSI rescheduling instructions.

Rescheduling is not the same as a refund. NHA's refund-policy page and the Handbook's cancellation section state different conditions. Contact NHA about the policy that applies to your payment before assuming you can recover the fee.

ID at the test site

Bring a current, government-issued photo ID — a driver's licence or passport are NHA's examples. The Handbook says identification should include a photograph, signature, and permanent address. Remote proctors verify identity too.

If the address on your ID is different from the one you gave at registration, the Handbook instructs you to bring proof of address such as a current utility bill that matches the ID. Resolve any missing-address or name issue with the testing provider before test day. Register under exactly the name that appears on your ID. Handbook, p. 25; NHA test-site ID guidance.

Accommodations: register first, then request

The order matters, and getting it backwards costs you time.

  1. Register for your exam in your NHA account. NHA requires the registration to be complete before it will take an accommodation request.
  2. Submit the accommodation request with your documentation. NHA recommends allowing 30 days for review; it aims to review within two weeks but may need more information. This is planning guidance, not a guaranteed turnaround.
  3. If you're using a third-party testing provider, do not book a date and time yet. Wait until your accommodation is approved and NHA's Compliance team sends you scheduling instructions.

A few things worth knowing before you start:

  • A school's disability office cannot approve this for you. NHA requires the request to go through its Compliance department. School-approved accommodations do not automatically carry over, and proctors or schools cannot independently add time to an NHA exam.
  • Documentation can be a qualifying IEP or acceptable 504 plan — send the whole plan — or a letter from an objective qualified professional on their letterhead, signed and dated. An IEP must be active or have been active at high-school graduation; a 504 plan must contain NHA's required details. "Objective" means not you and not a relative. For a professional letter concerning a mental or emotional diagnosis, NHA asks for a DSM classification code. The letter needs the diagnosis, how it prevents you testing under standard conditions, the specific accommodations required, and, if the condition is temporary, the date of diagnosis, expected duration, and how it was diagnosed. Documentation is preferred to be from the last five years.
  • When extended time is approved, NHA's usual allowance is 150% of standard time — one and a half times the standard two hours, or three hours total. More than that requires documentation stating how much and why.
  • For PSI-delivered exams, approved accommodations beyond extended time require an on-site PSI centre rather than live remote proctoring. Institution-based testing can also accommodate approved requests; follow the arrangement NHA authorizes for you.
  • Approval normally lasts a year. NHA describes this as 365 days and applies it to further NHA exams within that period, unless the approval concerns a temporary medical condition. But if you change where you test — from your school to a PSI centre, for example — notify compliance@atitesting.com in writing so the approved arrangements can be transferred.
  • Having English as a second language does not itself qualify you for an accommodation. The exam is written and given in English, it is not translated, and interpreters are not allowed in the room for translation.

One inconsistency to be aware of: the Candidate Handbook gives PSI's accommodations line as 833.537.1330 ext. 6750, while NHA's Help Center gives 800.537.1565 ext. 6750. Use the number in the email NHA sends you, and dial the extension so you reach the accommodations team rather than general support.

Sources: NHA Candidate Handbook, pp. 13–25; NHA accommodation instructions.


What the exam itself requires

Eligibility gets you in the door. Here's what's on the other side.

Exam detailWhat to expect
FormatMultiple choice, computer-based, proctored
Length100 scored items plus 20 pretest items, in 2 hours
Pretest itemsUnscored and unmarked. You won't know which ones they are, and they don't affect your result
Passing standardA scaled score of 390, on a scale that runs from 200 to 500
WhereYour school or employer if authorized, a PSI testing centre, or live remote proctoring
ResultsImmediately (preliminary) if you test at an institution; within 48 hours for PSI testing, including PSI live remote proctoring. Preliminary results are not final

Your score report also tells you whether you landed Above, Near, or Below the passing standard in each content area. If a content area had five or fewer questions on your form, it shows N/A instead — too few items to say anything reliable. Note that "Near the passing standard" does not mean you did fine in that area.

Which test plan applies to your date. NHA publishes a current CET test plan and an announced replacement. The replacement is not the current exam:

Exam detailCurrent CET examAnnounced replacement
Based on2017 job analysis2026 job analysis
Safety, Compliance, and Coordinated Patient Care32 scored items34 scored items
EKG Acquisition44 scored items40 scored items
EKG Analysis and Interpretation24 scored items26 scored items
Total100 scored + 20 pretest, 2 hours100 scored + 20 pretest, 2 hours
TimingThe current plan at the September 2026 verification dateExam announced for Winter 2027/2028; a specific launch date has not been announced

For the current exam, use the 2017-based test plan. NHA's September 2026 announcement places the replacement exam in Winter 2027/2028, with more specific dates promised closer to launch. For a future test date near that launch, check NHA's announcement and the plan assigned to your exam before choosing what to study. A job-analysis year is not an exam expiration date.

If you don't pass. You can retake after a 30-day wait. The first three attempts must be at least 30 days apart. After a third failure, you wait one year before each further attempt. You re-register and pay the full price every time. Recheck your eligibility dates and any outstanding requirements before reapplying; a previous application does not freeze those deadlines.

Want your exam rescored by hand? NHA must receive your written request within 60 days of your exam date; NHA may charge a fee and all rescoring decisions are final. To appeal a score, NHA must receive the official appeal form within 30 days of your exam date.

Sources: NHA Candidate Handbook, pp. 24–34; current CET test plan; announced replacement CET test plan; NHA exam-update announcement.


What it costs

The exam fee: check the amount in your NHA application before paying.

A fee applies to each attempt. The amount and payment responsibility should be clear before you complete payment, including whether your school or employer is paying. Review your NHA application for the amount charged to you — and remember the two-hour payment window when you are paying yourself. Candidate Handbook, pp. 13–14 and 34.

Keeping the credential: NHA publishes the following renewal and reinstatement requirements:

SituationWhat it takes
Normal renewal10 CE credits and a $195 renewal fee, every two years
Expired less than 30 daysNormal renewal, no extra fees
Expired more than 30 days but less than 1 yearReinstatement: 15 CE credits, a $292.50 renewal fee, and a $99 reinstatement fee — $391.50 total
Not reinstated within 1 year after expirationReinstatement is not available. You retake the exam

Full CET certification lasts two years. Two hours of qualifying continuing education equals one CE credit, and extra credits don't roll over to the next cycle. If you hold more than one eligible non-pharmacy NHA certification, the same 10 credits can cover them, though there's a separate fee for each.

At the 30-day or one-year expiration boundary, check your account and ask NHA which renewal status and fee apply: the Handbook describes a one-month grace period, while the renewal page uses 30-day language. Do not treat a month as a fixed number of days. These renewal and reinstatement options do not apply to an expired Provisional Certification.

Source: NHA renewal and reinstatement page and Candidate Handbook pp. 35–38.


Certification is not permission to practise

Passing the CET is not the same as receiving full certification: outstanding program requirements and provisional status can still matter. Even full certification does not, by itself, authorize you to do a particular job in a particular place.

NHA is explicit about this: its eligibility requirements apply only to NHA certifications and are separate and distinct from any requirement to practise under state law. Laws governing allied health work vary by state and change often, and NHA says you are responsible for knowing yours.

Check the current rules that apply to the work you plan to perform in your state, including any relevant state licensing or oversight authority, and ask your employer what it requires on top of certification. Do not assume every state uses the same credential or has a separate EKG-technician licence.

Source: Candidate Handbook, p. 12.


If you don't qualify yet

Start with the requirement you have not yet met:

  • No diploma or equivalency yet, and more than a year from finishing. Continue toward your diploma or accepted equivalency. Once you are within 12 months of graduation and meet the other requirements, the provisional route may apply; otherwise, complete the education requirement before applying.
  • No live EKGs. Arrange the required procedures through a training program with a clinical component or an employer. Confirm the documentation and any institution-agreed pre-externship arrangement before booking.
  • Your program was completed five years ago or earlier. Check Route 6: one year of supervised EKG-field work in the last three, or two years in the last five.
  • The checker does not represent your two-year work history. Read section 2 of "Where NHA's own pages disagree" above, then contact NHA rather than treating the question as the final rule.
  • A genuinely unusual situation. NHA has a formal process. You can request an exception to eligibility requirements using its Exception Request / Appeal Form. A Disciplinary and Appeals Committee reviews it, decisions come in writing, and you can escalate to the Certification Governing Board, which meets about three times a year. An exception request is not approval to claim a requirement you have not met. Candidate Handbook, p. 12.

Your next step

When you have confirmed your route and resolved the seven-point check, open the NHA certification portal and complete your application. Read each attestation before agreeing to it. If a line is unsettled, take that question to your program coordinator, employer, or NHA first — it's cheaper to ask now than to void a score later.

When eligibility is behind you and it's time to study, use NHA's current CET test plan as the authoritative outline of the content.


Sources and verification

The NHA publications below were checked on 10 September 2026 for the eligibility, application, accommodation, exam-administration, renewal, and announced exam-change information cited on this page.

Written by the Castleport Test Prep Editorial Team. AI tools assisted with drafting and source checking. Reading published documents is not the same as professional review, and no reviewer credit is claimed for this page.

Castleport Test Prep is an independent exam prep publisher. We are not affiliated with, endorsed by, or approved by the National Healthcareer Association. Exam and credential names identify their subjects, and trademarks belong to their respective owners. NHA makes eligibility, scoring, and certification decisions. Nothing here guarantees eligibility, a passing score, certification, licensure, or employment.