Castleport Test Prep

Medical assistant vs EKG technician

Compare medical assisting's broad clinical-and-office role with EKG technician work focused on cardiac testing, including local job fit, credentials, training, wages, and state permission.

In the United States, medical assisting is the broader job: intake, vitals, specimens, records — and, where trained and permitted, EKGs (electrocardiograms). EKG technician is the narrower role: focused cardiac testing, with monitoring duties depending on the position.

Compare the two roles

Compare the two roles
What mattersMedical assistantEKG technician
The workBroad mix of clinical and office tasksFocused cardiac testing; monitoring duties depend on the position
Example tasksPatient histories, vital signs, specimen collection, records, scheduling; injections when directed and permitted, and EKGs where trained and permittedPrepping patients, placing electrodes, running 12-lead EKGs; some roles also involve Holter and event monitors or assisting with stress tests
Where the jobs sit, 202556% offices of physicians, 17% hospitals77% hospitals for the whole cardiovascular technologist and technician group, not an EKG-only estimate
Training length BLS describesPrograms of about one or two years; some workers train on the jobEKG certificate programs generally take less than a year
Typical entry educationPostsecondary nondegree awardBLS says some entry-level EKG jobs may accept a high school diploma or equivalent
Credential examples, not universal requirementsCCMA (NHA), CMA (AAMA)CET (NHA) or CCT (CCI), depending on the employer's requirements
Openings BLS projects per year, 2025–35About 109,700About 3,400 for the entire cardiovascular group; EKG technicians are a share of that
National median wage, May 2025$45,690 (medical-assistant-specific)No EKG-only median in the cited BLS profiles — see the next section

Occupation figures and training descriptions: BLS, Medical Assistants and BLS, Cardiovascular Technologists and Technicians, both updated 27 August 2026 with May 2025 wage data. Training lengths describe typical routes, not required minimums or a guaranteed time to a job. Task and credential descriptions also draw on NHA's CCMA overview, NHA's CET overview, AAMA's eligibility page and CCI's CCT page.

A quick fit rule. Pick medical assistant if you want a broader mix of patient-care and office work. Pick EKG technician if you specifically want cardiac testing and can identify a local employer whose requirements your training will meet. If you're unsure, compare the jobs you can actually reach before choosing a program.

Which one pays more?

The cited BLS profiles do not publish an EKG-only median, so they cannot establish which of these two jobs pays more.

"EKG technician" is a job title within Cardiovascular Technologists and Technicians (SOC 29-2031) in these occupational sources, alongside cardiac catheterization technologists and pulmonary function technologists. Attaching that whole group's median to an EKG-only job changes what the statistic means. O*NET lists EKG technician within this occupation, and BLS describes its different specialties.

Which one pays more?
PopulationMedian annual wage, May 2025What the number actually measures
Medical assistants (31-9092)$45,690The medical assistant occupation itself. Not a starting wage.
Cardiovascular technologists and technicians (29-2031)$74,310A whole occupation that includes cath lab and pulmonary function staff. Not an EKG-only figure.
EKG technicians on their ownNot separately reported in these profilesDon't fill the gap with the line above it.

Sources: BLS medical assistant pay and BLS cardiovascular technologist and technician pay.

Two details from the same BLS profile show why the $74,310 cannot identify an EKG-only median. The typical entry-level education for that occupation is an associate's degree — but BLS separately says EKG technicians may enter with a high school diploma and that their certificate programs generally run under a year. Those two sentences are describing different people in the same statistical bucket. The lowest-paid 10% of the broader group earned less than $39,000, and the highest-paid 10% earned more than $121,350. Those thresholds are not the full salary range, and they do not locate a beginning EKG technician within it. BLS: education and pay.

None of that makes medical assisting the rich option. The MA median of $45,690 sits below the median for all U.S. occupations, which was $50,980 in May 2025. Neither median tells you the starting pay for a particular opening. BLS medical assistant pay.

Do not subtract $45,690 from $74,310 and call the difference an EKG pay premium. The two figures are counting different populations.

How the national job markets compare

For 2025–35, BLS projects about 109,700 openings a year for medical assistants and about 3,400 a year for the entire cardiovascular technologist and technician occupation. Divide those and you get roughly 32 medical assistant openings for every one opening across the whole cardiovascular group — and EKG technicians are only a slice of that 3,400, because the same number covers cath lab and pulmonary function work.

The employment picture matches. Medical assistants held about 833,900 jobs in 2025 and are projected to grow 13% by 2035. Cardiovascular technologists and technicians held about 64,500 and are projected to grow 4%. Sources: BLS medical assistant job outlook and BLS cardiovascular job outlook.

That is a real, checkable difference in the size of the national job markets, not a measure of your individual hiring odds. It is not a reason to rule out EKG work — a smaller field with a local employer who wants you beats a large field with no opening you can reach. It is a reason to do the job-ad check further down this page before you pay tuition.

(Calculation shown so you can check it: 109,700 ÷ 3,400 ≈ 32.3. Both figures are BLS projected annual openings, which include replacement needs, not just new positions. The ratio is not an EKG-only estimate or a count of current entry-level advertisements.)

Where you'd actually work, and when

For medical assistants, 56% work in offices of physicians, and 17% in hospitals. For the broader cardiovascular technologist and technician occupation, 77% work in hospitals. That second figure does not isolate EKG technicians. BLS medical assistant work environment; BLS cardiovascular work environment.

BLS describes evening, weekend or holiday work for some medical assistants and evening, weekend or overnight work for some cardiovascular technologists and technicians. A job title alone does not establish your shift pattern. Check the specific posting rather than the job title.

Can a medical assistant perform EKGs?

Yes — EKG can be part of medical assisting. NHA includes it in its CCMA role description, and O*NET lists operating EKG equipment among MA tasks. What an individual MA may do still depends on applicable rules, training and delegation.

NHA's CCMA test plan has a subdomain called EKG and Cardiovascular Testing. Its tasks include preparing patients for EKG or ambulatory cardiac monitoring, identifying lead types and correct electrode placement, performing EKG tests, recognizing abnormal or emergent results including dysrhythmia versus artifact, and assisting with stress tests, Holter and event monitoring. Recognizing an abnormal result and reporting it to the provider is not the same as independently diagnosing a patient. CCMA test plan, subdomain 3F, page 10.

But "an MA can do EKGs" leaves three separate questions to answer:

  1. Is this task within medical assisting where I'll work? Set by state rules and the delegating provider.
  2. Do I meet a particular certification's requirements? Set by the certifying body.
  3. Will this employer hire me for this position? Set by the employer's posting.

A yes to one is not a yes to the others. If you're already working as an MA and wondering whether to add a separate EKG credential, start at question 3: find out whether the jobs you actually want list it as required, preferred, or not at all. Paying for a second full program makes little sense unless it addresses a requirement or skill you actually need.

Training, certification and permission are different things

A course certificate records completion of a program. A professional certification has the issuer's own eligibility and examination requirements. Where a state credential is required, it authorizes a defined scope of work under that state's rules. An employer's posting says what they'll actually accept. Check each requirement separately; passing a national certification exam does not settle state eligibility. NHA Candidate Handbook, “State Licensing Eligibility,” page 12.

The credentials, plainly

The credentials, plainly
CredentialIssuerWhere it fits here
CCMA — Certified Clinical Medical AssistantNational Healthcareer AssociationA medical assisting certification. EKG is one part of its broader coverage.
CMA (AAMA)American Association of Medical AssistantsAnother medical assisting credential. Eligibility includes categories for CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited programs and an Alternative Pathway with its own conditions. Check its current eligibility categories directly.
CET — Certified EKG TechnicianNational Healthcareer AssociationEKG-focused, with its own eligibility rules.
CCT — Certified Cardiographic TechnicianCardiovascular Credentialing InternationalCovers ECG, Holter monitoring and stress testing. A separate credential; confirm which credentials the employer accepts.
CRAT — Certified Rhythm Analysis TechnicianCardiovascular Credentialing InternationalFocuses on using specialized monitoring equipment to analyze cardiac rhythms. Relevant to rhythm-monitoring roles, not automatically interchangeable with an EKG-testing credential.

This is an identification list, not a ranking. A credential's availability does not establish that it is required for your intended job. Confirm eligibility with the issuer, not with the school selling the course.

How much EKG is actually in each certification

The published test plans show each exam's coverage. They do not measure how much EKG work a graduate will perform on the job.

How much EKG is actually in each certification
Exam detailCCMA (NHA)CET (NHA)
Scored items / pretest items150 / 30100 / 20
Standard exam time3 hours2 hours
EKG coverage6 scored items in subdomain 3F, EKG and Cardiovascular TestingAn EKG-focused exam with three domains, including general safety and patient care
Largest single blockClinical Patient Care, 84 itemsEKG Acquisition, 44 items
Analysis and interpretationRelevant tasks within subdomain 3F; no separate item allocation for rhythm interpretation is publishedEKG Analysis and Interpretation, 24 items; this is broader than rhythm identification alone

Sources: NHA CCMA test plan, pages 1 and 10 (based on a 2022 job analysis) and NHA CET test plan, pages 1 and 4–5 (based on a 2017 job analysis). These are the plans NHA published at the links above when we checked them; a filename year is not an exam launch date. Pretest items are unscored; approved accommodations can affect testing time. NHA Candidate Handbook, examination format, page 25.

Two things worth noticing. First, EKG is genuinely present in the CCMA but it is a small slice — six of 150 scored items. That exam allocation is not a measure of how useful an MA's EKG training will be in a particular job. Second, the CET's 24 analysis-and-interpretation items cover more than rhythm identification, including measurements such as heart rate and waveform intervals. Its other domains are EKG Acquisition, 44 items, and Safety, Compliance, and Coordinated Patient Care, 32 items. Studying rhythm identification alone leaves other tested tasks uncovered.

Don't read study time or difficulty out of these counts. They tell you what each exam covers, not how long it takes to learn.

The hands-on requirement that catches people out

NHA's CET has a prerequisite the CCMA does not: you must be able to provide evidence that you have successfully performed a minimum of ten EKGs on live individuals. NHA Candidate Handbook, CET-specific requirements, page 8.

There is one important exception. Under the handbook's institution-approved pre-externship route, a candidate can sit the exam before finishing that requirement — but the certification is held and not released to you, an employer, or any regulatory body until the school confirms completion. The institution must agree to this route before the exam. The externship, required paperwork and institutional notification to NHA must be completed within 90 days of the exam date. Missing the completion or notification deadline voids the score and requires retesting. NHA Candidate Handbook, pre-externship route, pages 7–8.

Passing the exam does not make the hands-on requirement disappear. Before you enrol, ask the program three questions and get the answers in writing:

  • Who arranges the placement where I'll perform them?
  • Who supervises and documents them for NHA?
  • What happens if the placement is delayed or falls through?

Ten live EKGs alone don't qualify you either — full certification also requires the diploma-or-equivalent requirement and a qualifying training or work-experience route. NHA has separate provisional-certification conditions for eligible high school or equivalency-program students. Read the current rules in the NHA Candidate Handbook, eligibility, pages 6–8 and 11 rather than relying on a school's summary. CCI's CCT and CRAT have their own separate pathways; don't assume NHA's live-EKG rule applies to them.

What it costs

Exam fees are one part of the cost. CCI publishes $175 for each exam, CCT and CRAT. NHA's handbook directs candidates to its website for current examination fees rather than listing a dollar amount, and AAMA lists its fees on its eligibility page. Get each one from the issuer on the day you apply. NHA Candidate Handbook, fee information, page 5.

Add training and any other required expenses. Work it out with your own written quotes:

Estimated training-and-entry cost = tuition + required charges not already included + exam fees not included + placement and travel costs not already included

Keep confirmed grants and later employer reimbursements in a separate line. A reimbursement you receive in nine months is not money you have this month. And don't double-count anything the school has already bundled. Mark an unknown charge as unknown, not zero; a subtotal with missing charges is not the complete cost.

Does your state require anything?

Check the rules for the duties you intend to perform, not just the title on the course. National certification and state authorization are separate questions. NHA Candidate Handbook, page 12.

Washington provides one worked example. RCW 18.360.020 requires state credentials for the medical assistant roles it identifies, subject to the chapter's exemptions.

For the Medical Assistant–Certified credential, WAC 246-827-0200, effective 21 March 2025, provides several training routes:

  • A CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited postsecondary program; or a postsecondary school with accreditation recognized by the U.S. Department of Education and at least 720 training hours, including a 160-hour clinical externship.
  • A Washington-registered and approved apprenticeship, subject to the rule's equivalency condition.
  • Secretary-approved routes for documented postsecondary education or career-and-technical education. These discretionary routes require 720 hours, a 160-hour externship and training in all specified MA-C duties; the career-and-technical route also requires approval by the state's Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction.

The rule also requires an approved exam passed within the five years before the initial application, or a current national MA certification from an approved examining organization. Its examination criteria refer to National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA) accreditation and coverage of the state's specified clinical and administrative duties. An exam pass alone does not replace the training requirement.

There's an interim certification for people who meet the other qualifications but have not passed the exam. It expires upon passing the examination and issuance of certification, or after one year, whichever comes first, and it can't be renewed. RCW 18.360.040(1).

The chapter does not create a credential called "EKG technician," but that is not permission to ignore it. Electrocardiography is expressly listed among delegated duties for several medical assistant credential types. Match the actual duties, supervision and any applicable exemption to the state rule rather than assuming a different job title avoids it. RCW 18.360.050.

The practical point: choosing a program that does not meet an accepted state pathway can leave an exam pass insufficient for credentialing. NHA says the same thing in its own handbook — its eligibility rules are separate from state permission to practise, and holding an NHA certification doesn't guarantee you meet a state's requirements.

Washington's rules are Washington's. Check your own state's health department or medical board before you pay a deposit, and treat what the school tells you as something to verify rather than something to rely on.

Check your route before you enrol

National figures and a state example are a starting point. Your decision is local. This worksheet turns it into eight things you can actually confirm. Print it or copy it, and mark each row Verified, Needs confirmation, or Not applicable — with the source and the date you checked. Keep separate notes for medical assistant and EKG technician routes.

Check your route before you enrol
#CheckWhat to record
1Daily work fitWhich specific duties on the comparison table would you enjoy, and which would you rather avoid? Write both lists.
2Reachable jobsSearch current openings for each title within your commute. Record the actual advertisements you review, not an assumed total for the local job market.
3Employer requirementFor those openings: which credential is required, which is preferred, which isn't mentioned? How much experience do they want?
4Eligibility route you can documentWhich of the issuer's pathways can you actually evidence — a training program, or supervised work experience? Get this from the issuer, not the school.
5Hands-on requirementWho arranges, supervises and documents any required practical work — including the ten live EKGs for CET? What if the placement falls through?
6State requirementWhich state requirements apply to your intended duties? For a required credential, which training routes and exams are accepted? Record the board or controlling rule's own page and the date.
7Total time and total cost, in writingClasses, practical hours, eligibility paperwork, exam. What's included, what's extra, what's still uncertain?
8Shifts and payActual shift patterns, weekly hours, travel, and advertised base pay for the openings from row 2. Keep hourly and annual figures separate.

For each check, copy this record once for each route:

Check number: ______ Route: ______

My answer: ________________________________________

Source or contact: __________________ Date checked: ______

Status: Verified / Needs confirmation / Not applicable

On row 2 and row 8: look at up to five current, non-duplicate entry-level ads per role in the same area and at the same seniority. Record employer, exact title, date, duties, credential language, hours and pay. If an ad doesn't disclose pay, record it as not disclosed — not as zero. Five ads is a starting sample to sharpen your questions, not a labour-market study. If almost nothing comes up for one title, widen the date range or the radius before concluding the job doesn't exist near you.

Ask the employer

I'm considering [exact job title]. Which certifications do you accept or require, and what experience do you expect? Is EKG training provided on the job? What are the usual shifts, weekly hours, and base pay range?

Ask the program

Which exact certification eligibility pathway does this program support? Who arranges and documents any required hands-on experience, including the ten live EKGs for CET candidates? What is the full cost, the expected completion timeline, and your policy if a clinical placement is delayed or unavailable?

Then write it down

My current choice is \_\_\_\_\_\_ because \_\_\_\_\_\_. Before I enrol, I still need written confirmation of \_\_\_\_\_\_ from \_\_\_\_\_\_.

If you can fill in that sentence, you're done. You don't need to click anything else.

Sources and verification

The relevant sections of the sources below were checked on 10 September 2026.

Occupations, pay and employment

Certifications

State requirements

  • Washington WAC 246-827-0200 — MA-C training and examination requirements; current rule effective 21 March 2025.
  • Washington RCW 18.360.020, 18.360.040, 18.360.050 and 18.360.090 — credential requirements, interim certification, delegated duties and exemptions. Washington is used as one worked example. It does not describe any other state's rules.

How this page was made. This comparison uses public-source checks, not firsthand program testing, a board determination or a sample of local job advertisements — the job-ad method in the worksheet is for you to run in your own area. The fit rule and the worksheet are our editorial judgment, not a validated career assessment. This page was prepared with AI assistance and source checks, not a qualified professional review. Read our editorial methodology.

Last verified: 10 September 2026, covering the occupation profiles, certification requirements and Washington rules linked above. Wage figures describe May 2025. Exam fees, eligibility rules and state requirements change — confirm yours with the issuer or board before you apply.

Independence. Castleport Test Prep is an independent exam prep publisher. We are not affiliated with, endorsed by, or approved by the National Healthcareer Association, the American Association of Medical Assistants, Cardiovascular Credentialing International, or any state agency. Exam and credential names are used to identify their subjects, and trademarks belong to their respective owners.

Nothing here guarantees certification, employment, pay or licensure.

Castleport Test Prep Editorial Team